blonde bombshell 344w - October 16, 2015s

author’s note:

“We must not be frightened or cajoled into accepting evil as deliverance from evil.  We must go on struggling to be human, though monsters of abstraction police and threaten us.”
                      –– Robert Hayden
 

THE NEW COURAGE

I say it’s healthy
that we believe we are crazy
that we believe we are sick

but only if we also believe
we can heal ourselves.

It’s healthy
that we fear for
the survival of our species:
apparently, we still love ourselves
despite all our flaws—

despite our inability
to find enough love within
to stop the destruction.

When I’m finally able
to love enough
I will be willing to defy
my fear of death
my fear of enemies

my fear of you.

When I can finally defy my fear
I’ll be able to help with the healing.

When we can finally defy our fear
we will be able to save ourselves.

When we finally rise above our fear
we will no longer see enemies…
 


© 2015, Michael R. Patton
dream steps: the blog

